Throw Out The Trash!

It’s been over a month since I last posted. A lot has happened and I’m eager to share one thing in particular. This past weekend I moved. This wasn’t a big move but God still spoke to my heart during the process.

A few of my prior post centered around trusting God and some of the struggles that accompany this risk. I am learning that choosing to trust God is a risk worth taking. His goodness and faithfulness amazes me everyday. As I continue in this season, I am learning that I can choose to worry or I can choose to trust. When I began this season, I chose worry. I chose doubt. I chose fear. I chose everything else but the right thing. And let me tell you, it was awful. My days were long and my nights were short. Worrying about where I was going to live was futile. But it was when I gave in that He stepped in. That’s when trusting God became easier. The situation didn’t change, but my perception of it did.

As I began to prepare for my move, I was shocked by the amount of junk I collected over the course of two years. For one person, it was way too much. I began to go through various items and became excited at the thought of downsizing and getting rid of things I had no business having or carrying. At the end of the process, I disposed of and gave away over 5 bags of items. And I’m still not finished.

trash

Am I concerned that I threw away the wrong thing or too much? No. I am actually at peace. I feel that the more I simplify and organize my life, the more sense it will make. I am excited for that day!

Until then, I am forced to look at myself internally. What trash needs to be taken out? Unforgiveness? Doubt? Selfishness? Whatever it is and wherever it resides, I don’t want it anymore!  I’m sure God is ready for this mess to go as well. There’s so much He has for me. There’s so much He wants to give me. Yet, how can I receive what He has with my hands and arms full of junk?

It’s time for the trash to go out. It’s time to say goodbye to dumpster diving and trust that what God has for us is so much better than what we are carrying.

Go ahead and give in and watch God step in!

Leave a comment