The Faithfulness of Love, Part 2

sunrise-1

I was ready to call it quits. I was ready to walk away from it all. But the revelation that God fights for me became evident.

I tried to fight His presence from day one. This was my anger and I had a right to hold on to it. I thought I had a right to hold on to the offense. I thought that it would make me tougher. I thought it would help me grow thick skin and become a stronger woman…a stronger Christian. I thought wrong. I was wrong. It didn’t make me tougher, it made me weaker. I was vulnerable. I was sad. I was a bunch of things and tough wasn’t one of them. And in it all, I still felt His presence. I still felt His presence. It was constant. It never left.

God knows what we need even when we don’t know ourselves.

The first thing I did at the this new church was surrender. For the first time in my life, I felt as if I could be transparent and not be judged for it. This transparency began with the girl in the mirror.  So I asked/demanded/pleaded…all in one breath, “God, I don’t know how to give this to you. Come and take it from me”. I can’t tell you when and I can’t tell you where. All I can tell you is that one day I woke up and I didn’t feel the heaviness anymore. There was healing that was yet to take place but I no longer felt overcome. That is when I began to hear His voice more clearly.

“Marva, I am Faithful not to leave you in this condition”.

-Your Lover who Fights For You

And that He was. He revealed to me my true identity. He breathed life upon my heart as my confidence in Him and in myself soared. My Lover pursued me in His Strength with Power and Consistency. Jesus’ love brought me to life.

My friends, He is faithful. Jesus is the sun that will always rise in your life to give you life. Sustaining you through the dark times, His love is real. There is true resurrecting, life-giving, chain-breaking, wall-destroying Power in His Love…in His Name.

and it is because…

He is Faithful.

Lamentations 3: 22-24:

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”

-Marva

 

Leave a comment